Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have just found a 1964 vin numbered Mustang fastback, unrestored in storage since 1971. all three inner fender Vin#'s are 4F09T345086,we contacted Ford and Marti they do not have documents for a car this early. Any suggestions on documenting this car?Has anyone ever seen a 64 vin numbered Mustang.There are photos of fastbacks completed in Dec. of 63 in engineering department but to our knowledge none exist. Is this a test/engineering/fitment car?This is my first time to post on this forum, I can be reached @ [email protected] Thanks for your time

Update:
Here is the ling to our site for pictures and more info.
http://www.collinsbrosjeep.com/images/classic cars/64FBmustang/64fastback.htm

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The car is missing the driver's door and driver's fender, therefore no data plate for door at this time, is there another place on the car for date code? This car needs total restoration, it has not been apart or restored, the numbers on inner fenders are real, they have not been tampered with.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes we will post them on monday, IT man is on vacation.The car is here and if anyone wants to inspect the vin#'s and are in the Dallas Texas area they are welcome to look at the car.The address of the car is 3101 W FM 544 Wylie Texas 75098.9-6 M-F and 9-3 on Sat.Out of town the 14th. and 15th.Please email for appt.to see the car.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts
I have a feeling that it's most likely a mis-stamp. The sequential number is way to high to be a pre-production test or engineering car. The early 64 cars (64.5 to some) still started with a "5".

I think that car would have a scheduled build date between Nov 4-6, 1964. I have VINs 5F09C344438 with a date of 06L and 5F07T345404 with a 04L date.

·
Registered
1,725 Posts