Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

im new to the gamebut have loved old mustangs since I was a kid. Have the opportunity to buy one but not sure what are the right questions to ask and what to look for. I have provided the little info about the car that I have, below but any help and advice would be very welcomed.

1965 289 coupe
45350km
Some rust/bubbling under the pain

thank you

nik

·
Registered
5,629 Posts
Ask the owner if they will take less.
Ask yourself if you can find a better one for that much or less.:unsure:

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
Not all of the pics are loading for me. Could just be a me thing though.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ask the owner if they will take less.
Ask yourself if you can find a better one for that much or less.:unsure:
they’re asking for $10500 Canadian. Seems cheap relative to other mustang s ive seen so I’m curious as to what problems ithas

·
Banned
3,546 Posts
I think the biggest factor here is going to be the condition, just how much rust there is, where and what else needs to be done on the car. Most of the v8 coupes with an automatic transmission down here in the states are being listening for a max of about $15-16k. The rarer cars are being listed for more as are the ones with the really nice restorations or the "resto mods". If you've got a good deal of surface rust under the paint you're probably going to need to get the car repainted at some point and that usually costs at least $5k US up to over $8-10k US. So if you're trying to be ahead of the game and not be losing money on the car, you'll probably be at the break even point if all you have to do is paint the car. If you have to do suspension, engine work and so on you're probably going to be into the car for more than what it's worth. If you don't care about that and you think the car is a good deal then by all means buy the car.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #10