Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, im a newbie and i might as well introduce myself... im steve. Ive been looking at getting a fastback for a while now, and i found a 65 fastback, 2+2, 3 speed manual fast back for 5995 locally... Now my idea of a nice fastback doesnt have a 6 cylinder in it, so my plans are (if i buy it) to drop an orignial 289 with a 4 speed tranny in. Now the car needs some minor work, fenders, front bumper, and paint... Does 5995 sound like a decent price for a 65, 2+2 fastback, 3 speed manual, 6 cylinder? it runs great, no rust anywhere and pretty straight body... Also, ive never heard of a 6 cylinder 2+2 3 speed, and im wondering if these are common at all? Thanks for your guys' input, and please help me find a good price to offer.
thanks
steve

·
Registered
3,109 Posts
I can't answer as to rarity, but the price sounds pretty good if you have plans on doing all these changes anyway, if you know up front what you'll be getting into (new springs, spindles, etc. for V8). Sounds like a good platform for your project to me....

·
Registered
562 Posts
Welcome Steve: The price sounds good to me, and a fastback and rust free (are they ever completely?), runs great ,,, sounds like a deal. A swap to 8 cyl. is a lot of work and fair $$, so be sure it's what you want to do. (whats wrong with a 6 anyway?). Keep us posted. Good luck. Mark

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
The price is a very good one for a rust free car. The coversion to a V8 is not a big deal. Many of the Mustangs I see need new suspension pieces anyway. All the work you have to do for the conversion will give you a fresh, reliable, fun to drive Mustang.

But rahter than a 289, I'd suggest a 302. The 302/5.0 is easier to find and easier to make horsepower with.

Good Luck,

·
Registered
654 Posts