Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer, I am a major novice however I enjoy doing things myself and learning.

With that said I have a 1967 mustang coupe 2bbl carb with a 3 speed manual. After a ton of searching about how to pull motors and install motors on these cars it seems most questions stem from install fuel injected 302's or other large engines (351, 490). My question is what is required or has to be changed if anything to install a carbed 302 into my mustang using the stock 3 speed.

Ok here are my initial questions in list form:
1. swap a 302 where the 289 was (does is just bolt right in like the 289)...what mods are needed if any?
2. how strong is the 3 speed as I would like to keep this because I doubt I could swap a tranny.
3. I want somewhere in the 300 range for power so was looking at crate engines...is there a good website for this as again I probably cant rebuild an engine.

Notes:
This car is a weekend car
Budget $10,000 total over time
Small single garage to work in.

·
Registered
22 Posts
1) There's no reason to trade a 302 for a 289, the extra cubes will make almost no difference. You can, however, trade in the 289 for a 331 or 347 stroker (if you don't know what a stroker is, google it.) but yes, it will bolt right in.

2) A three speed tranny won't be able to handle much more than 300hp, trade in for a T5 5spd from a 5.0 or a modern 4 speed

3) 300hp is easy to get from the engine, you can definitely use the 289 to get that kind of power. You could use bolt-on upgrades such as new heads, or it may require a rebuild if the engine is in poor condition or is just old. An engine rebuild with some new heads and a new carb or EFI will certainly fit into your budget. Probably around $2-3K depending on what you decide to do. You can then spend the remaining money on some new exhaust, a brand new T5, and about $4,000 worth of upgrades after that.

Other things to consider...