Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone give me some general information about setting the timing on my car? I have borrowed a timing light, and I don't know what RPM it should be when in park, or in drive or how much advance it should have or better yet what page in my Chiltons can I find this info on, because I can't find it LOL. Also is that all their really is to "setting the timing" , or am I missing some steps? Sorry if this sounds stupid but I've never done this before...
Thanks
Jason

·
Registered
2,614 Posts
alot of mustangers run around 10-12 degrees of initial timing. the stock 6 degress the books will usually specify just isnt enough . i myelf, i run 13 or 14 degrees initial and my car seems to like it. no pinging , and it gained some low end grunt going from 6*

·
Gone but never forgetten
25,239 Posts
You will attach the inductive pickup of the timing light to the no. 1 plug wire. Look at the pickup, as some timing lights must have the pickup oriented correctly. Attach the positive lead to the + battery post, the negative lead to the - post. Get your idle speed set first (if it needs any adjustment ... odds are it doesn't). Then Loosen the distributor hold down clamp and plug the vacuum advance. Start the engine, point the light at the timing marks and pull the trigger. Rotate the distributor until the desired mark lines up with the pointer.