Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I figured may as well start one of these. New to the forum (ish) but have been around in some form or another since I got my coupe. I bought the car around age ~15 (actually was the first one I bought for myself) and have been slowly working on it since in some form. Early progression kept it as a perfectly capable "sunday driver" but that's since taken a pretty massive deviation 馃ぃ I'm an engineer by education and during college I took the FSAE path as some of you may be familiar with. That was a great experience and lead to me doing some RallyX post-college. I did want to get back onto tarmac though in some form after doing 5-6 years of auto-X and some form of open-wheel (even if testing was all my large self was cut out for).

After getting a house and all that, I was finally able to get the car back and start working on it. Chasing down some wiring lead to a serious case of the "While your in there's" and here we are. I thought the mustang fit everything I wanted as a "Track car" but i can get into that more later. I've got a bit to catch up on here but I'll start posting progress and then after I'm caught up will try to keep this regular.

How it all looked before this started:

Registered
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Alright, where to start. I guess probably some of those "criteria" I talked about and then also what this will/wont be. Like I mentioned in the first post, I wanted to get back into some form of tarmac racing again and in my mind I had a couple important criteria:
  • relatively cheap consumables
  • wide OE support or OE repo support
  • wide aftermarket support
  • easy enough to work on
  • small/light