Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone.

About myself. I like cars, I work in IT, and rebuilt/tune broken toys is my hobby and a little mind outlet.

I always liked 1968 Fastback design but
a) too expensive for a good one
b) bad ones were expensive and bunch of serious problems
c) i never was too big fan of the coupe (sorry to all the owners, I just liked Fastback more)

It wouldn't be possible to start this project if I would want to keep things original but I always was buying cars for fun, not to keep them in a museum.

A few years ago I started to see around videos coupe to fastback conversions and I decided to try one day myself.

I said, I better to buy car cheap, then invest money into new parts instead of giving away difference in ~25k to some person just to have it. So Coupe to Fastback idea settled down.

Last June, I was looking for a car that I would use as a donor for a conversion. I said, let it be rusted in the right places that I will cut out anyways. I should have a clean proper title. and..
I found one. It was a bit expensive, some rust around but it already had front brake conversion, was running, plus the interior wasn't too bad. Alright I said and bought this.

Car Wheel Tire Vehicle Land vehicle

the doors, fenders, rear fenders had a lot of rust, the rest was okay. IDropped on my 19" wheels. Took off 350GT rims and put them away to sell in the future.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Obvy 19 inch 10.5 wide +35 offset rims didn't work too well with Shelby Drop and very old rear leaf springs. Car couldn't move. Plus I almost bent my front fenders and cut the tires because the wheels went even lower and I didn't roll the fenders yet.

So I jumped on Amazon and bought some Chinese fender roller, which had many bad reviews but was cheap and for some reason worked for me just fine.