Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys

I have a 68 Mustang Coupe 289. My EdelBrock carb is about 11 years old and I have had some problems getting it set and with my car stalling at lights when coming to a stop. I'm not sure if its the seals, floats, or what and I'm an amateur at best. I'm thinking it may just be worth buying a new Carb then trying to pay to have the old one rebuilt. I'm going to start using my Mustang as a daily driver, any recommendations?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,395 Posts
Is this a sudden problem? Sounds like the floats may be too low, idle too low, timing too retarded, or idle mixture screws in too far...all of which create a lean condition at low vacuum. Also at low rpm a dirty fuel filter or a weak fuel pump can starve the engine.
I had a 1406 that I tuned with a rod, jet, spring and float kit on my 289 for 20+ years and it ran very well but I had a stumble coming out of a turn I could never tune out and it seemed like I always needed to fool with the choke, the idle was a little rich to keep my engine happy. It would run great at part throttle cruise and when I poured the coals on it was a surprise for the late model cars. But I wanted something smooth, maintenance-free and to get rid of the shudder and stumble. I got an original Autolite 4100. And BAM. By the way, I love the car.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. It’s bren happening for a while. I think it needs a new carb and a new filter would be a good idea. Where can I get an auto light from? I need something simple and easy maintenance I don’t need to keep adjusting

·
Registered
804 Posts
I bet it is just dirty. Also, have you recently run a tank of gas through it. If not, the gas being old could be part of the issue.