Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've come across a very interesting vehicle in South Africa and I'm trying to din out if it is worth bringing in it back to the USA.

It is a 1971 Super Cobra Jet. Still owned by the original owner that imported it into South Africa. Speedo is in KM and it stands at 24,949km.

All orginal with all documentation relating to the original purchase.

Anyone have a ball park idea on the value of this?

·
Registered
175 Posts
I’m no expert in that generation, but did you google it? I see one that was bid on BAT for $50k, Barrett Jackson sold one for $47,300, and Gateway Classics has a couple listed for around $75k...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Vendor
3,551 Posts
Given the low mileage... If it is 100% un-restored, with original paint and interior and engine compartment etc.etc... And if the entire car presents itself as nicely as the photos indicate... Then it is worth more than a restored example. These 429 SCJ cars can be difficult to predict, because it's a matter of having two or more deep-pocketed buyers looking to buy it at the same time. But it could easily (if the original condition truly is close to as-new) rise up and tickle the $70K area.. Just my gut feel, I could be wrong.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
1 of 40 built for the police according to the owner. I can't find any info to support this.

Comes with the second carb - still in the box.

Unrestored, original.

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
That's a beautiful looking car. I have no opinion or idea on the value but I think we could all agree that it would look great back here in the USA. Any chance he has a Marti on it? Might help with value determination.

John

·
Registered
175 Posts
That car looks so good it’s hard to believe it is unrestored! Has he had it inside a climate controlled vault?!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,873 Posts