Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I have a question and im just looking for advice before I make a decision

I have 67 with a mildly built 302. AFR 185 heads, Air Gap intake, headerss, SoT strut rods and a Edelbrock Performer Cam.

The purpose of the car is to cruise around in and have fun, but also to smoke any rice burners that pull up next to me.Im new to the hobby this is the first classic car I have restored oor even ridden in for that matter ( other than a buddies 58 chevy)

My next upgrade is my rear end gearing I currently have 2.79 stock gears. I bought some Accel Richmond gears (3.55) and I have an opportunity to get a complete 3rd member with posi already installed and 3.8gears
I had never heard of 3.8 gears before I thought it was 3.55 to 3.73
I have a C4 tranny with a 2800 stall torque converter and I heard dthat 3.55 is a great gear for quick acceleration off the light but I would hate life on the freeway. And if thas true then 3.8 I assume would run about 400 RPM higher ( even though I dont plan on doing much freeway driving)
So my question is Should I stick with the 3.55 gears or go ahead and go for the posi unit with 3.80 gears.
I dont want to install the 3.55 gears and wonder down the line if I should have installed the 3.80.
I know what Posi is but tI dont know if I will even notice its presence or absence
Eventually I may upgrade to a AOD, and a 408 stroker ( but thats way down the line)
BTW. I was told by an installer that these Accel gears are junk and make noise, has anyone ever heard that or had that experience.

·
Registered
693 Posts