Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was told that if you can not afford a set of AFR or any other type of aluminum racing heads that a set of 1969-1974 351 heads would be a nice set of budget heads for the stroker motor. I was also informed that a set of the GT40 heads would be nice as well. Is there any suggestions out there? I am a college student on a budget and really can not afford the $3000 for a nice set of aluminum race heads so any suggestions?!?!

·
Registered
21,330 Posts
Actually you can use up to 1976 351W castings, after that they were basically crappy 302 smog heads. 351W heads despite having bigger valves and a bigger intake port still have the same size exhaust port as 289/302 heads. By the time you have the heads ported, ect, you'll have a fair amount of money tied up in them to the point that a set of aluminum heads aren't that far away. The GT40 heads have bigger exhaust ports. You should be able to pick up a set reasonable because they're old tech but will still make power. You can also use GT40P heads which are a little better but have a different plug angle and may have innterference issues with most headers. I'd suggest looking for a set of used aluminum heads as a lot of 5.0 guys like to upgrade frequently.

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
You don't have to have fancy, expensive, alunimum heads to run pretty well. If you are in any way handy with a grinder you can clean up a set of cheaper cast iron heads and do well. I run an old set of cast iron Windsor Jr heads and run high 11's to low 12's depending on the weather and traction. I've been told that I must be lying because that can't be done.

I would forget about the stock castings for the least money/effort to performance investment. You can make them run but its cheaper and easier to get some cheap aftermarket iron heads to run better and they will likely cost the same or less.