Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 57 Ford rear end and I noticed the spring perches have a huge hole for the locating pin. The hole is 1 inch in diameter. Did Fords of that era have locating pins that large?

·
Registered
1,323 Posts
I'm not an expert but I did use a 57 housing in a 66 Mustang and I don't recall such a large hole but that was a long time ago (~30 years), so that detail may have faded from my memory.

What I do remember is that the spring perch was not welded all that well and the perch started to wrap up after a bunch of >7000 rpm launches on slicks. I think you would be wise to get out the welder if your going to get aggresive with the power. Don't use the stock 57 axles they are very weak, use your 66 axles they are stronger.

·
I won a special award
7,409 Posts
Never seen the holes that large. Personally, I see no reason to use the old style rearend. I got a 9" out of a 79 F150. It's a much beefier housing than anything that came in the cars. I cut the spring perches and shock mounts off. I bought new housing ends that I'm going to weld on after I shorten the housing. I'm adding a back brace to further strengthen the housing. By the time I'm done I'll have just a couple of hundred bucks into a housing that is more than strong enough to hand 5,000+ rpm launches with a 5 speed on slicks.

·
Registered
3,277 Posts
Greg, a 57 housing doesn't have the large hole like that. Have they been drilled out to fit what he was going to put it on. What is the width from outside flange to outside flange. It should be 52 3/8 and the spring center should be 43 something I believe. I can check mine for you tomorrow. Give ne a call about the measurements.

·
Registered
3,277 Posts