Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was lucky enough to find an almost unused 6 pot 68 hardtop for a few hundred $. Only problem is its been stood for a long time and the engine is totally seized. Rather than try and get the old 6-pot working I would like to install a 289 or larger v8. Could anyone offer some advice on whether this is possible or recommended? Apart from the drivetrain and front springs what other components need uprating?

I am new to the world of mustang ownership so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Darryl

·
Registered
5,417 Posts
I swapped a 6 t0 an 8 in a `66, you will need a lot of little stuff that can be very costly. I ended up finding a V8 donor car not only for parts, but it was very handy to see how things actually went together.
you should try the search feature, there is a wealth of info on this subject as it has come up several times

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
My car was originally a 6. A donor car is the way to go. You will have to change the radiator, steering linkage, rear end and front brakes (If 68's ran small brakes (4 lugs) on 6 bangers). There will be some wiring modifications and accelerator linkage issues as well.

If your car is solid, and you can find a donor, there is no reason not to do it.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice, I've now found the previous dicussions on this topic (you're right, this has been covered a few times before!).

I can see a lot of info on 65/66 swaps but I haven't seen anyone mention 67/68 cars. Does anyone know if there any significant diffeence between the upgrade on a 67/68 car?

·
Registered
5,205 Posts
I considered the good ol' V8 swap as well when I first bought my car. I did the math, and to do a swap CORRECTLY, it'll cost $7,500 or so, depending on your resourcefulness with part aquisitions.