Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I've made a short introduction in new members and now I'm ready to start the documenting the update of my 65 Coupe barn find. I'm going to refer to it as "Orange Peel" because it has the Poppy Red paint code and I'm sure with my paint skills there will be some.

The plan for Orange Peel is:

• Repair/replace sheet metal where needed
  • Add torque boxes
  • Repaint to original color
  • Update the suspension
  • New wire harnesses
  • Restore the interior
  • Add some performance items to the 289
  • Have fun

I'm just getting started and have no urgency to get it done (retired), so it may take a while. I'm getting ready to pull the engine and do far haven't found anything too concerning.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,293 Posts
Here's a little unsolicited advice, and it is the best advice ever for anyone about to undertake a comprehensive mustang rebuild.

VMF member 22GT advised: "Don't throw ANYTHING away until the job is done".

I didn't know that was a good idea when I started mine over ten years ago, but I sure wish I had. I can't tell you how many times I got to a point and suddenly realized if I had only saved that totally decrepit, rusted, mangled (insert item name) I could have used it for KNOWLEDGE and EXAMPLE later on.
Welcome to VMF! :smile2:

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Cool, thanks for the advice! The plan is to keep all the original stuff until it becomes a burden or sell it when I know I won't need it. I may rebuild the engine accessories and master cylinder and call it good. I know there were a lot of these made so other than being a classic '65 Mustang this car isn't anything special, I plan to change that.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
4,020 Posts