Vintage Mustang Forums banner

65 Mustang No Crank

5K views 28 replies 13 participants last post by  baloo 
#1 ·
I have read and troubleshot all the suggested, but I am legit losing my mind over this. I just put a 302 in the 65 and when I turn the key, I get the loud click in the solenoid. I bypassed the neutral safety as I now have a T5. I have 12v on the battery side of the solenoid; when key turns I have 12V at the starter post. I have replaced the starter. I have sanded and replaced the block ground. I still get one click and nothing. This is my first build, not new to working on cars, but this one has me scratching my head.

I am thinking the solenoid is good if I am getting the click and 12V to the starter.

#2 ·
1. So the starter does not turn at all, but you hear the solenoid click
2. ...and you have replaced the starter..., and your battery is strong..
3. If so, i'm sure that you have made sure that the engine turns easily when you put a socket on the crank....such that you know it's not frozen or too hard to turn...
4. If #1-3 are true, I feel your pain. I dont have anything.

#3 · (Edited)