Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
651 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I've owned a '92 LX limited Edition convertible since new, and have done a lot of work on it over the years (heads,intake, exhaust etc..) I am however a total newbie when it comes to the four speed A code GT Fastback that I just bought, and I need help.
I'm getting this kind of knocking sound front the front of the engine, and it seems to get louder as the motor gets hotter.
I changed the water pump (original aluminium) because there was a slight wobble, but the noise is still there. I've also run it without the belt and noise persists. The engine was rebuilt 4000 miles ago and the timing gears and chain were changed. Any ideas?
Thanks.
Paul

·
Registered
2,374 Posts
Does it change when you put the engine under load? Have someone put it in gear and then listen. Run a compression check and see if any pistons are different.

·
Registered
2,528 Posts
Possible lifter niose? If you could get a stethascope to determine location it would help.
Welcome to the forum!
A lot of people here are more than qualified to help but will need a little more info to track down the niose.

G

·
0 Posts