Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newb here. After 40 years of dreaming, I am finally a vintage Mustang owner. I recently purchased a nearly all-stock 66 coupe 289 2bbl C4.

On one of our 1st outings with her, we were stuck in a VERY long line to get into a drive-in theater and I realized the temp gauge was moving up and oil pressure seemed to be falling, when it continued, I pulled out of line and gave up on the movie. Once I was moving again, all was well in short order. When I got home, a little googling told me that I was not alone and this is a pretty common issue for a stock Mustang. I probably wouldn't worry too much about it except that I have plans for a large classic cruise and parade and fear this will be an issue.

The remedies and opinions are plentiful and I am wondering if there are some of you that can help me sort through what is the best course of action to take. I do have an interest in keeping things reasonably original but am open to making changes for functionality/practicality. So here it goes:
  1. New radiator? If so, Aluminum? Brand? How many rows? (it seems that more than 2 rows requires other modifications)
  2. Thermostat? 192, 180 or 160?
  3. New fan? If so, how many blades? Flex Fan?
  4. Fan shroud?
  5. Coolant additives?
  6. "It's a classic and you should be horse-whipped for changing anything!"
Any insight would be appreciated!

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
14,234 Posts
#1 only make one change at a time. Otherwise you won’t know what helped & what didn’t.

#2 install an AutoMeter mechanical temperature gauge under dash. The factory gauge and sending unit is not a reliable indication of overheating. Summit has them

#3 get the stock 190 /195 thermostat. Buy a good one, they are inexpensive. Your car was designed to operate at 195 - 220 F. The stock thermostat doesn’t even fully open until 212 F.