Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all-

I'm a little new to this, so please forgive my ignorance. I'd appreciate any advice that you may have; please feel free to email me as well. If there's already a magazine, website, etc... that explains all this, I'd love to know about it.

My car is a '66 FB c-code 289 auto, no ac, power drum brakes. I drove is for about 4 years, and it was ok, but now I want to upgrade it so that it can be a more dependable, safer, and of course faster, daily driver. I plan on doing the upgrading in phases, so I'd also appreciate any advice on the logical steps to do together (to save labor costs). I don't have the time, or knowledge, to do the work myself, so I'll probably have to take it somewhere. I live in LA, so if you know anyone locally, that would be great.

Also, these are my overall thoughts: I'm not too concerned with keeping things "stock" since I plan on keeping this car for quite sometime; as long as I don't do any irreversible damage, I'm pretty much open to anything. Also, I don't have a ton of $$$ to spend and I'm not really looking to make it a racer, but I would like it to move. I'm not really sure where to start, but here's what I'm thinking so far:

ENGINE - Assuming my 289 is ok, what's a reasonable and relatively upgrade? I've read about using a newer EFI, which would be fine as well. I guess I'm wondering if tweaking the existing on would be cheaper then just dropping a newer one in. I would like to maybe add a supercharger down the road, but nothing too crazy, so I don't need to monster engine.

BRAKES - Obviously, I would like to go with disc brakes. Is it worth it to go with disc front and back? Anyone have experience with a kits they've bought that worked out well?