Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I know exhaust system discussion suggests ricer all over it-but I must ask a few questions about I6 exhaust on a 66-

I'm assuming it is a single exhaust setup, seeing as how it is an I with 6 and all-how loud is it? Does it have a catalytic converter, a muffler or resonators? Also, if It does have a catalytic converter, is it legal to remove said converter, seeing as how the car was made before these laws?

Last one-is it possible to go dual exhaust on an I6? Probably very small diameter pipes, but I much prefer the symmetrical, more muscular look of duals. I just don't know how it would hook up, as I've never worked on an I6 before.

Thanks,

~Gowrons

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
I6's are not what anyone would call loud in stock condition... the are single exhaust with only a muffler - no resonator or catalytic converter (these happened in the 70's). You CAN put duals on a 6 but to do so you need to go to headers and install an exhaust port splitter between the #3 and #4 ports... all this stuff is available from Clifford performance and lots of good info is available at http://www.fordsix.com/ good luck and let us know how things turn out. ;)

·
Registered
858 Posts
um yea dude...u wont see cats on those things lol, that happened when emissions and gas crap kicked in...74 and up i believe....my advice i think..not sure but ask some 6 owners...dont bother w\the mufflers if u have a 6 lol, see how loud it is w\out the muffler..might be an improvement :p

·
Registered
876 Posts
You may also have to modify your rear brake line as with dual exh. they can burn the stock flex line.

·
Registered
3,179 Posts