Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got my car back on the road after a little over a year. I've always been very happy with the way it stopped with the drums all around with single bowl master cylinder with bootster. Since it's been back from the shop it just doesn't feel the same. Reading threads on here has given me a lot of ideas. I know I need to, at a minimum, go to a duel master cylinder. I'm now also considering a front disk conversion when I can afford it. Either way, I plan to ditch the booster. Also, the E-Brake has never worked so I would like to get that fixed as well.

Short term I want to just get everything working. I have no brake experience but with the right tools (I'm currently stalking CL HARD for a good floor jack) and a YouTube video or two I think I can get it down. I started by pulling the wheels off to see what I have. This is the right rear. Do these pads look like they have some life left in them? What about the drums? I didn't see any cracks or anything that jumped out at me.

Attachments

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Now the Concerns

I get to the front. Here's what I see. I haven't seen front brakes that look like this before. It looks more like a rear drum to me. What gives? I apologize for you having to tile your head to 9 o'clock to see the pics. I can't figure that out.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,216 Posts
Your rear brake looks like it might good condition with plenty of lining on the shoes. Your front brake looks like it has a leaking wheel cylinder. The front brakes will need new shoes along with new wheel cylinder(s). Once brake linings are contaminated with brake fluid they must be replaced.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·