Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finishing stages of this project, bodyman by trade.

Ordered interior kit ( both front and rear ) from NPD. deluxe interior, never installed any seat upholstery, believe its held on with hog rings and these are squished by hog ring pliers.

Id like to try and install these seat covers, not to just save a buck but mainly just to say I can do it.

I know that I can do it, I just lack the experience and knowledge.

Any votes of confidence, suggestions, resource video recommendations would be appreciated.

Not trying to make a career out of this but like everything else I do I want to do a nice job.

·
Registered
6,048 Posts
1st- throw away the cheap-a$$ pliers that come with the hog rings- they're absolutely junk! Get a nice pair- I like the ones with a slightly angled head. I don't re-use the old listing wires as they're typically rusted/bent/etc. I use a galvanized roll of wire and cut to length, roll the ends over so as not to puncture the material. After leaving the covers in the sun for an hour +, start with the bottoms. Just copy where the rings were on the old covers, starting with the centers of the seat bottom. Then roll the material over to the bottom side and do the same. Be sure to use a CLEAN working surface, and be careful of dirt and rust that will fall out of the seat when flipping it- it'll scratch the new material in the most obvious spot possible! When holes are needed for seat track bolts, side pivot- I heat up an awl and push it through the cover where needed. That way the material doesn't have a cut that can tear and run later. You'll pick it up pretty easily and be proud of the end result!

·
Registered
4,968 Posts