Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 2 of 2 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help!

After assembling much of my 67 fastback, I'm having a tough time with the door locks.

I didn't disassemble the door or the lock, but I haven't owned the car for too long, either.

After putting new rubber all around the car (door seals, window seals, etc) the doors don't seem to rattle.

But yesterday I locked the car up and couldn't get it back open. Even with the windows down, or using the door opener handle inside. The lock knob moves up and down, but simply doesn't allow the opening of the car door.

Finally, after jimmying with it for close to 30 minutes, it magically opened. I have NO idea how I did it -- sheer luck.

Both doors do the same thing, and I have yet to open the passenger door.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Just remember: write simply, as I am no mechanical engineer.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
If your '67 works anything like my '65 2+2 there are three control rods for the locks.

a. the outside pushbutton control rod.
b. the inside lever control rod.
e. the lock pushbutton control rod.