Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any suggestions on diagnosign overheading problem in the 67 Mustang with a 289 and C4 Auto trans?

Ive replaced (and even tried with removing) the thermostat.
Ive replaced the water pump (the old one was sad)
When filling up the coolant, it took about 1.5gal, that was without taking out the engine drain plugs (this sound about right?)

Anything else to check?
Thinking:
Timing?
AF mix?
Blown Head gasget? (Please no)
:pirate::pirate::pirate:

PS: I am not an expert mechanic, just a learning enthusiest.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Sitting idle, not under load, the gauge goes about 3/4 up before i get too nervous and shut it down. (Takes about 5mins to warm up from cold to this point).

Took it for less than 1mile spin around the no quicker than 35mph.. get back and its just about boiling. Touching radiator hoses just about burns fingers - and cap is too hot to touch.

Radiator - not sure of age, but its in good condition. The coolent i drained out looked pretty clean (was replaced with fresh anyway)

Doesnt cool down till the engine is shut off.

Not sure how to better explain it?
Current temp here is around 70f - so not really an environmental variable

·
Registered
2,834 Posts
Do you have any pictures of your fan / radiator setup? Maybe some of your cooling passeges are clogged with rust scale?

·
Registered
4,767 Posts
Yank the plugs and look for one that looks steam cleaned. That would indicate a head gasket. You could also run a compression test.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Getting that hot that fast, I would think head gasket. Blowing hot exhaust gasses into the coolant. Do you notice any new gurgling noises? Does it "burp" as it is cooling down?

The other thing I don't think you mentioned was a shroud on the fan. If that was missing, it would heat up at a normal rate but then be slow to cool when the fan kicks in.

·
Registered
653 Posts