Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few years back, I had the idea of converting my '67 S-Code Fastback into a Shelby clone, 6 speed manual, etc, etc. I even posted a thread on here soliciting thoughts and opinions. Well, life got in the way, other responsibilities, work, other projects, etc. To be honest, in the back of my mind, the thing that kept me from pulling the trigger on ANY of the upgrades was the fact that it's numbers matching. Restomods bring huge money these days, but most of the big dollar builds are very well built. I am not a mechanic by any means. On the other hand, while I don't plan on selling it, I would like to know that if life went bad and I needed the money, I wouldn't be hurting the value. With all of that being said, I want to drive the damn car, and have decided to simply do that, but will do incremental upgrades/maintenance. So, now on to my questions:

1) I haven't driven the car over the past year due to a lifter making noise. I don't know if I want to replace the lifter or...."since I've got it all apart, may as well....." I will wrestle with that on my own, as FEs can be bank breakers. To be honest, it's not very exciting for a big block. It runs out of breath by 4k. Decent off the bottom, but doesn't do much as the RPMs climb. Thinking it's the heads or exhaust, but regardless, there are tons of good FE recipes out there, just depends if I want to give up a month's pay, or a year's pay. Regardless, I do want to fuel inject it. So.....what are your thoughts on the Sniper system vs. the Edelbrock Pro-Flo 4?

2) Suspension - What is the latest on the market? I'm never going to be on the track, but do want to improve the driving experience. CPP? TCI? Etc. What is the current formula for making a classic Mustang drive as good as it looks.....without breaking the bank!