Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just removed the center section so a local shop can rebuild it (going from 2.80 to 3.55 gear and adding a posi).
All of a sudden I got a case of "while I'm at it". I figured I may as well pull the housing out and detail it and since the housing is out I may as well replace the original leaf springs. I have never done a job like this so I hope some of you guys can answer a few questions for me. Here goes:

1. Is it O.K. to jack the car by the axle housing with the center section out?

2. Any pointers on removing housing and springs, proper sequence of removal?

3. What is the best (safest) place to position jack stands for doing this?

4. I plan on getting 4 1/2 leafs from Mustang Plus, should I get mid eye or reverse eye.

Sorry if some of the questions seem dumb I'm new at this and I just want to get it right the first time.
Thanks

·
Registered
923 Posts
1.yes

2. see below

3. just forward of the leaf spring attachment point is a flat place. Place your jacks there

4. I really don't know we got the Canadian Mustang real big kit and it was the OEM sttle leaf springs.

Your jb is not that difficult but you will need the following
1. A sawzall
2. Jack stands.
3. A floor jack to lower the axel.
4. Of course the normal wrenches and sockets

Jack the car up and place it on the jacks. Remove the parking brake cables, or loosen them so they will allow the axel to fall. Unbolt the u bolts holding the axel to the leaf springs. Support the axel under the pumpkin with the floor jack. RElease the rear leaf spring bolts. Allow the lear spring rears to fall. then if the car is high enough , you can drop the axel
(with someone steadiing it) using the floor jack. All items must be released from the axel prior to dropping the axel. Brake lines, parking brake cables, axel vent hose.