Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just bought a 65 coupe within the last 6 months. Outside of oil changes every 3K, can someone give me an idea of other items that require regular maintenance and at what intervals. This probably seems like a stupid question to most of you but any ideas and guidelines would be appreciated. Are there any sites where this info might be available?

I am new to owning a classic and I don't want to miss any of the important things that need to be done regularly.

Thanks for your help and I really enjoy this board.

Oh yeah, the knob on the end of the light switch on my car keeps coming off. What would be the best way to reattach it so it will not come off. Thanks again.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by rbrack on 03/30/01 05:35 PM (server time).</FONT></P>

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Check the plugs regularly, and the gaps. Watch the water level. watch the oil level at every fill up.
With care even a pony on her last leg like mine will outlast any new car:)

1968 Coupe, 6cyl Std, Bench Seat. Driven through 10 years of College.

·
Premium Member
19,191 Posts
I examine all fluids once a week, and check tire pressure once a month. I try to check manual tranny and rear-end fluid once a year. Lubricate every time I change oil.

The cars are very good at telling you when they need maintenance...you have to have a good ear, and know your car...they will let you know, usually by squeaks, rattles, and odd behavior.

http://clubs.hemmings.com/baymustang/platesmall.jpgLet me check your shorts! My multimeter is just a-waiting! Formerly known as Midlife in the old VMF.
King of the Old Farts *struts*

·
Registered
923 Posts
A lot of the fluids on the car should be checked.
every time you get gas.
check the oil, it's level and color(dirty?,milky?-means water in it)