Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All! I'm a newbie to this forum and this is my first of probably many posts so thank you for such an amazing forum.

Here's my question...I have a 67 fastback with power drum brakes and I just received my Baer front disc brake conversion kit and I think I have everything figured out except for the plumbing of the lines. It sounds like running an adjustable proportioning valve is needed. Can I keep the stock distribution block and just place the proportioning valve in the line from the master cylinder to the distribution block port going to the rear? Or do I have to remove my current distribution block, place a new T distribution block for the front and have a line going from the master cylinder to the proportioning valve then out to the rear? I really don't want to spend the weekend learning how to bend and flare brake lines.

Thanks!
Magnum

·
Registered
768 Posts
The distribution valve goes between the junction block and the rear brakes, I like to install it somewhere in the engine compartment around the steeering column.

·
Registered
204 Posts
If you have rear drums, you don't need the adj valve as the brakes themselves are adjustable.

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
If you have rear drums, you don't need the adj valve as the brakes themselves are adjustable.
That has nothing to do with it.

The stock drum/drum distribution block has no proportioning function in it and can be used again as a distribution block. Place the adjustable proportioning valve somewhere in the rear brake line. Make sure to use a disc drum MC. A stock 1967 1" MC should be a good match for the Baer calipers, but you may want to ask them.

·
Registered
204 Posts
It has everything to do with it.

A prop valve is used on rear disc cars that want to run bias to put more power to the front.