Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
4,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know I'm going to be pilloried as a wanna be English teacher, but when you ask someone for information you are asking for his adviCe. If you provide someone with information than you have adviSed him. Advice is a noun and advise is a verb. Please allow me to adviSe you to take this adviCe. Ok, take your best shots. I just couldn't stand it anymore. Look at most of the requests for "advise" on this forum.

·
Registered
4,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Bishir, anybody with a 69 convertible is most certainly doing OK by me. I know I should have kept my mouth shut but.... When I was a freshman in college (classmate of Alexander the Great) I once asked a professor if I was to imply something from his statement. He stopped and glared at me and said "Mr. Sousa,I imply, YOU INFER!" I turned about three shades of red but ya know, I never forgot that lesson. I suppose he advised me and I took his advice to heart.

·
Premium Member
11,700 Posts
<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

I know I'm going to be pilloried ...

<hr></blockquote>Woohoo... that there is a fancy schmancy word, doc /forums/images/icons/smile.gif I had to look it up to be sure I understood it rightly:

[color:red]Main Entry: pillory
Function: transitive verb
Inflected Form(s): -ried; -ry·ing
Date: circa 1600
1 : to set in a pillory as punishment
2 : to expose to public contempt, ridicule, or scorn </font color=red>
http://www.geocities.com/WestHollywood/Heights/9417/pill1.jpg
And it's WAY old too... did you used to use it when you was a kid? /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

Next thing you know you will want people to keep the size of their sig pics to a minimum. Sheesh /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

... GREAT word, BTW...

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Pretty good, Bishir, but what's a "loosing" battle? I haven't run across that one yet. J/K. Had to with the grammar talk.

Carl

·
Registered