Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Project Order

In May I bought a 65 fastback that needs some work. Here are the things that need to be done (in the order I was planning on doing them):

1. Interior - Paint plastic panels, new dash pad & radio patch panel, carpet, seats and headliner
2. Install antenna and mirror (requires drilling in new metal)
3. Suspension rebuild and maybe some brake work.
4. Magnum 500's and tires (wheels rub now)
5. Engine compartment detail
6. Exterior bodywork, new chrome, and paint (color change)

I am new at this. Am I anywhere close on my project order? I am probably looking at a 3 year project for all of the above. Biggest reason for paint and body last was $.

I will try to get a picture up soon. Car looks (almost) decent as is and I drive it once or twice a week.

·
Registered
2,034 Posts
If you are going to be parking the car and stripping it down to do the work, the order you do it depends more on money, however, if you plan on driving it for some time yet (while you do the interior,etc)..I would suggest that you begin with the improvments geared twards safty..brakes,suspention etc..Your project sounds alot like mine...mine is all apart in the garage, and needing all the things you mentioned (and then some), and also figure it will be at least 2 years before it see the road again :(
Good luck..kep us posted

Joe

·
Registered
453 Posts
I would change it around some. I wouldn't do the interior before the body work. Body work can will get dust and dirt all over your new interior. Do your brake and suspension work after you get all you take your fenders off (if your planning on doing so). Tires and wheels will be last. So here is how my order would go. 1. Body work (mirror and ant. at the tail end of this) 2. Engine detail. 3. Suspension work. 4. Interior. 5. Wheels and tire. Good luck.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Hey Taxman,