Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone used the Autometer Sport-Comp 3315 fuel level gauge? Will it work good in my 65 stang? I'm looking for a good fuel level gauge that reads correctly without bouncing back and forth when the gas sloshes in the tank. I have an older model Autometer now, but the needle bounces back and forth all the time. Will this happen with the 3315 gauge?

·
Registered
2,483 Posts
I have no experience with either of those guages, but my guess is the sending unit has more to do with needle movement than the guage. Think of it like an oil pressure guage. The guage just reads what the sending unit is sending.

·
Registered
3,245 Posts
I'm guessing if the needle is bouncing back and forth, you have a bad ground, or a bad sending unit(I'd check the ground first).

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It is a new sending unit that I put in when I installed the new gas tank a couple years ago. The stock fuel gauge doesn't bounce around, but this aftermarket one I have does. It only bounces around when the gas sloshes in the tank. I think there is some resistance built into the stock gauge so that it does not move as fast as the sending unit does. I've measured the ohms of the sending unit and it is correct. I'm just wanting a gauge that will read correctly. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
2,483 Posts
Sounds like the guage is just too accurate. I'd call Autometer tech and ask if you can retard the guage with some type of resistor.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·