Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys ,
Just finished up all the body work on my 65 coupe finally. I have all the materials needed to try my best to paint this car myself, my only question is what would be the best way to ensure I don't have water when spraying my car. I've read posts were people just recommend a filter before the gun and have your hose over 25ft to reduce condensation . I would appreciate any responses to educate me so I could get my car painted soon

·
Registered
207 Posts
The only recommendation I have is to not waste your money on the filter from Harbor Freight that has granules in it to absorb the water. It is entirely too small and the granules don't last very long. I'm no expert, but I'd think you would want the filter at the pump to keep the water out of the hose.

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
What compressor are you using ? That is part of the moisture puzzle because an under-sized compressor will run constantly, creating lots of heat. You can't drop all the water out until you get the air cooled down to a reasonable temperature.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Here's what I fashioned out of 3/4" copper pipe and some ball valves. Condensation ran down each leg and drained from there. Used with a 60 gallon compressor. Worked like a charm.

·
Premium Member
950 Posts
I’ll be interested to hear what others have done. Obviously an after cooler would be ideal, but spendy. I have a 2 stage 80 gallon compressor and ran about 20’ of 3/4” copper with a couple of drops to a couple of filters (particulate and moisture). From there I have run 3/4” Rapid Air lines through my shop with 4 drop lines and drain valves. I don’t seem to get water at the drops, yet I am still concerned how it will work when I get to painting stage. I will probably put another filter for my paint hose and an in-line at the gun. I do try to keep the shop closed up and ambient humidity at 35-40%.

·
Premium Member