Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was helping my boss w/ his 1940 Caddy tonight and the car stalled on us repeatedly when in gear. It will idle like a dream, but once you take off, it chugs and dies.

The fuel filter, the old glass bowl type, is bubbling w/ tons of air - it looks like boiling gas! I'm a novice at best, so I'm wondering, is this normal? Or, is the car sucking air and then stalling?

Tomorrow morning we are going to the farm where it now sits (where it stalled) to work on it. Any suggestions?

The car also has an inline filter that is 1/2 gas, 1/2 air. It also has a sediment bowl between the two which we noticed is on backwards (the "out" side is towards the gas tank, the "in" toward the bowl fuel filter). Could that be problematic?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Doug

'66 signal flare red coupe with styled steel wheels
289 4bbl. w/ PS, PB, AC, white interior with a bench seat, deluxe seatbelt option, an extra seatbelt in the back for my three kids, and a tissue dispenser (good for an extra 15 HP!)

·
Registered
10,587 Posts
If the fuel pump is working OK, it's probably a clogged pickup in the fuel tank or some blockage or a kink in a fuel line...

If the pump can't suck fuel, it finds some air to suck in through the path of least resistance....

That's my guess for a Friday night..*G*

Pat
http://www.jps.net/binay/webdocs/strtmstng002_sml.JPG

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
While I'm no expert on those, I can say if something is on backwards, it may cause problems.
I would suggest you start with the obvious: Vacuum leaks,correct timing,proper carb adjustments.
When was the last time the car was run? Old gas would cause this problem also.
Good luck and post back-let us know how it turned out!

Was Bob Emmerich on old forum

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4