Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6,782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a PowerMaster 140 amp one-wire alternator. Prior to me taking down the car, my alternator lamp would come on dimly. If I increased the engine RPMs, it would fade out. However, with additional loads, it would be brighter. Anyhow, magically (*G*) the problem was still there when I got the car back together. Last evening, I removed the alternator and disassembled it. Time for some serious surfing. Found out that the diode Trio was bad on one leg. I also repacked the rear bearing (needle style). I picked up a new diode trio (0.98, literally) a spare and a new regulator as well as a spare rear bearing, for a whopping $14.94. By the way, I got a self-exciting (I am not going there) regulator. It does not need a 12 volt source on the lamp terminal to operate.

Anyhow, I will know tonight if my repair fixed my alternator lamp and got rid of the whine on the radio. All symptoms point to that $0.98 diode trio (also verified with the service technician at the auto electric shop).

Steve Leslie, 65 coupe in restoration. 302, toploader, A/C, disc brakes, bench seat

http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=1571478&a=12535662&p=46267978&Sequence=1.jpg

·
Registered
2,596 Posts
Man - move over Midlife - Steve is quickly becoming the 'Electron Meister'. Good call, 15 bucks with spare parts to boot!

BTW - how'd that happen - reversed polarity on a jump start or sumpthin'?

Glenn Morgan: 66 GT V-Burgundy Fastback 351w+toploader+9 in. TracLoc. Started out as a rusted-out Chicago-area crusher. After sacrificing a solid 66 coupe for its sheetmetal sub-assemblies, I have one solid (and expensive) work in progress!

·
Registered
6,782 Posts
Discussion Starter #3