Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1968 Mustang GT
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 68 fastback with tilt-a-way steering. I had the American autowire classic update kit installed by a pro. He came highly recommended and did a great job. He's a mechanic by trade but also specializes in classic rewiring.

We have an issue that we can't get around. With the headlights off, turn indicators work in the back correctly, but are crossed in the front. (left is right, right is left). When the headlights are turn on, all indicators are on constant. He's double checked all grounds, all lines and all bulbs.

His opinion is that the turn signal switch inside the steering column has gone. To my knowledge, I honestly cannot remember if the signals were working when I bought the car two years ago.

Has anyone run into this? Any suggestions?

·
Registered
32 Posts
An easy way to know if the switch is working right. Is unplug it test conituity between the different wires in the different scinarios (left, right, hazards, brakes, etc...)

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1968 Mustang GT
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK, and myself being a novice on wiring, how would I go about testing it? I have a volt meter and a test light. I want to be sure it's that before I order one and pay the shipment and duties to get it to me.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Did the person who installed your wiring harness use the new gm style plug that came with the American autowire harness or the stock style plug

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
I had an issue with my turn signals (with the stock harness) and it turned out to be a bad brake light switch. I replaced the switch and the signals worked correctly again.

·
Registered
32 Posts