Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Found this while doing some wiring for a tach. 67 coupe, mounted above wiper motor, has 3 leads and one lead went to center post on the back of the ignition switch thru an inline fuse holder with a 7.5 amp fuse. Looks original, but who knows, maybe somebody.....
C10D1BB8-1268-4DAC-9FC8-00176ADFA08D.jpeg

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Do you have the safety convenience lights? That could be part of that. Can you tell what color the wires are?

·
Premium Member
881 Posts
Do you have a Marti Report? The “Convenience Control Panel” was a group of 4 warning lights...Park, Fuel, Door and Belts. It was a pretty rare option and that looks like it might be a relay for it, but I am no expert. Hopefully someone will chime in.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don’t have a Marti report and this is the only thing I have found, but will do more exploring, probably been ripped out years ago. I have noticed my door tag has only a few things listed, most things like interior trim and other things have no code letter under them, don’t know why. Anyway was just curious and I will try to trace those wires out and see where they end up especially since this thing ( whatever the round cylinder) is was energized from the ignition switch. What does the center post off the back of the ignition switch do anyway? Is it the feed to the ignition switch? Or acc. position?

·
Registered
5,213 Posts
That’s not part of the safety convenience lights. They have 2 relays that mount on the fuse box. Neither look like that. Ford had lots of options back in those stays. Most connected to power the way you describe. Where do the other wires go. Looks almost like the flasher which is position in that area, but it’s too small and the clip is different.

·
Registered
35,494 Posts
With the 7.5A fused circuit my guess would be OEM speed control relay.

·
Registered
552 Posts