Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hedman Hedders 88842 (picture attached).
Product page: Hedman Hedders - Block Hugger Hedders

I'd like to know if anyone has used them in their '67/'68 SB Mustang as I'm curious if I'll have any clearance problems and/or any other issues using them. The one that comes to mind right away is excessive heat, I'm new to these headers and don't want to fry anything under my hood either. :) They are advertised as block huggers so I'm thinking I won't have any clearance issues w/shock towers, see attached diagram from Hedman site showing how they hug the block (they are the ones in the bottom RH corner 88420) or go here as attached pic might be too small: http://www.hedman.com/images_products/blockhuggerdimsimage.gif. The 2.5" collector will match right up to the 2.5" Magnaflow system I already have for the car so will be nice if I can use them. The block in my '68 is a '66 289 and the heads I am planning on using are '65 289HP heads. I also have a few other upgrades to add to my engine when I freshen it up and am hoping these headers are going to be a nice addition. One other note is the heads and the Edelbrock Performer RPM intake I'll be using are port matched, logically thinking, less restriction (matched ports, 2.5" collectors into 2.5" system) will mean a little less heat, no?

Now, I have to stop collecting parts and stuff and start getting them on the car! That is a whole other thread right there. :lol:

Thanks in advance for any info!

Attachments

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
So, just re-read the description on Hedder's site and it states "The compact, low profile design of Hedman's Block Hugger Hedders is ideal for factory manifold replacement..."

So I guess my question is answered but it'd still be good to hear from anyone who has used them just to be sure there won't be any surprises when I do install them.

Thanks!

Oscar

·
Registered
116 Posts