Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Patrick.,.. Have a question for you - I have read many of your
posts/replies and know that you know what you are talking about...
I am a pretty good mechanic too - But I have a problem that I thought you
may be able to help me with...

I bought a 66 converttible last year and had to make some changes to her
last winter.. I pulled the motor, completely rebuilt it, .030 over, .010 on
the crank. Everything is bone stock... My car is by no means a hot rod but
has plenty of umph. I like the original look or all original parts on these
cars.

Here is my question... I have the engine all back in now, took her for a
few test drives yesterday. The car has plenty of pickup, and over 2500rpm
she runs like a champ..

When I am kinda putting through a neighborhood, 3rd gear and about
1500-1800rpm the car has a very slight "bucking" that she wants to do.
Almost feels like the timing is too high, or like on a newer car, an egr
valve is sticking open (know the feel I am talking about???)

Anyhow, this car is a stock 66, no emissions or anything - vacuum is dead
nuts at 18 inches at idle.
Appears to be no vacuum leaks around the intake or the carb base and the
carb is untouched from last year when I bought the car. I never felt this
bucking with this carb on the old engine so do not feel that the problem is
carb related.

Another thing, I did convert to a pertronix ignition with the stock wires,
coil and dist cap... I can easily put the points back in and see if my
problem is ignition related but it does not feel like a miss, kinda feels
like a plug wire that fouls out or arcs out - this is usually more
prevelant under hard acceleration though....

One other thing I noticed was that when idling at like 700rpm, the pcv
valve seems to "rattle" like it's opening and closing real fast.. I put mu
thumb over it and the idle drops a bit.. I even pinched the vacuum line off