Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I’ve probably posted too many times recently but this community has been absolutely vital for a guy like me and has enabled me to do take on way more than I’d have ever dreamt possible in my 66 Vert partial restoration so truly appreciative.

per the attached images I have aggressively wire brushed the existing floorboards with a rotary grinder using the twisted wire style brushes and then treated all-remaining pitted areas with Blaster Metal Rescue from HD for 24 ours. This is an environmentally friendly non acid treatment which I have no experience with.

I generally need advice on next steps in terms of correct treatment and proper order before putting in sound insulation and carpet - self etching primer vs epoxy primer vs POR 15 / seam sealer, what order etc. also what is that extra hole for near each of the floor plugs. (Sorry for the dumb ass question). See images and thank you.

RudeMan

Attachments

·
Registered
1,909 Posts
After cleaning in a different area (inside driver's cowl) I used Picklex 20 rust converter and then hand brushed with Mastercoat Siver Series. Fantastic stuff. They use it on bridges so that should tell you something.

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Was it previously treated with POR15? Whatever the black is, is way to thick to be factory paint. I would use some type of acid treatment to kill any remaining rust before applying any primer or paint. Rust-Mort, Ospho, etc... Follow their directions then epoxy prime & paint.

·
Premium Member
68 Mustang Coupe
5,061 Posts
You need phosphoric acid (milkstine remover at your local farm store is dirt cheap) them master series.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·