Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some advice. Got my old 289 3spd out this weekend and was checking out my rear end while I was under there. It's the original 8". See the specs on my new drivetrain in my sig. I'd like to upgrade to a posi 3.25 or 3.50, and I'm trying keep the price reasonable. Also, I'm not sure I'm up for rebuilding myself. Tools and skill are both lacking, I think.

I'm OK with sticking with the 8" (assuming I can use my current housing/axles?), so I'm wondering what others opinions are on the least expensive way to get this done. I don't think the 8.8 upgrade is right for me at this point either, again skill is lacking. I'm seeing some flea-bay rear end rebuilds for $600 to $650 plus shipping. Or I can have one rebuilt by a local shop (not even sure what kind of shop-transmission?)? I'm still new at this, but now that I have my engine/trans figured out, I'm moving down the list. Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
8,138 Posts
Careful getting rearend work done. I went to a local "highly recommended" speed shop that specalizes in newer Mustangs to get gears put in my '95. It was a good drive out to the guys shop, and he failed twice to make them quiet and refuses to call me back. When I saw he shows up to work at noon, I should have left. It was obvious he does not take his profession serious if his business hours are noon to 8.
Pay the price for a reputable builder that can get it done right the first time.
Currie use to do 8" center sections. Won't be cheap, but will be done once, and done right. I'd just get a complete center section and swap that out.

·
Registered
238 Posts
With the final goal being a mild 289 on street tires rebuilding the 8 inch with posi and gears is probably best. You can pull the differential, drop it off for work, reinstall it, all fast and easy. Probably cheapest as well.