Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I know this question has probably been answered a few times here...but then again, every time something is asked, new hints and tips come up, so I thank all of you in advance for responding :). At any rate, I may be purchasing a 66 Mustang hardtop in Wimbledon White. The first order of business is to paint it, as the current owner has most of the trim, etc. removed and sanded down to the original factory paint in some spots (it has a very amateurish, wrong color white on it right now).

My question is what you guys think is the best method for getting the current paint off...i'm a complete newbie, so the more details you have, the better. Right now, from what i've gathered, I should use 1200 grit emery cloth on my orbital sander and just go at it...I've also heard chemical strippers recommended, and wet sanding as well (soaking paper in water every min or two). Anyone got any faster, better looking, etc. suggestions?

Also, any suggestions on things specific to mustangs that should be masked, covered, etc. or tips on this? Also, little spots that should be painted that I'll probably miss?

Last thing...how bad of a sin is it to change the color of the car? White isn't too bad, but I'd love an inky black stang...just looks so mean, but its not original, of course.

I know its a big post, but any little bit of info is completely appreciated, because i am a total newb!

Thanks,

~JP

·
Premium Member
705 Posts
I used Aircraft paint stripper. I also media blasted the edges/hard to get areas. I started out sanding - but it is too tedious. However, there is no easy way to do it yourself.

Check out the results on my link below.

·
Registered
11,012 Posts
Well, first off, get a couple good books on the subject of painting your car. You can check out amazon.com through this link:

http://www.vintage-mustang.com/amazon/reading.html