Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a strange thing happen yesterday. I was making a sales call to one of my industrial customers and in drives the MAC tool truck. I followed one of the mill wrights into the tool truck just to look around and remembered that I need a 7/16" and a 3/8" combo wrench so I picked up one of each. The MAC man rung them up and said "That will be $55.32." "You gotta be kidding!" say I. "But sir, those ARE MAC tools."he said. I told him, "Since they are so precious YOU better keep them, and I'll just run to the old parts store."

Friends, I was totally blown away. What brand of tool do ya'll buy and what do you pay for those same wrenches?

·
Registered
7,944 Posts
I liked your response. :) Craftsman for the most part, with some genric stuff as well. but I'm just an occassional weekend mechanic and home repair type.

John Harvey

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Craftsman here for the most part, but I do have some cheapie wrenches too, that I have had for years and work just fine.

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
I've had (and abused) Craftsman hand tools for about 30 years now. For a backyard mechanic I don't think you can beat them for the price, not to mention the guarantee.

Lou

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
i use craftsman also, i know mac,snap-on,blackhawk,proto, tools are good but i'm not paying that kind of money for them,..... yeah a got alot of cheap stuff also that works just fine......

·
Registered
2,032 Posts