Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 69 Mustang convertible 302. I can't figure out what happened to my brake lights. They used to work fine. My turn signals, dash lights, radio, hazards, heater/defroster, horn, headlights, convertible motor...all work. But my brake lights dont. The fuses under dash are all fine. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have not. Do you know where I can find instructions to check the brake light switch?
Sorry, I'm a bit of a novice....I'm learning as I go.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,541 Posts
Cool! So this Shop Manual is good for all 69 Mustangs?

It is good for all 1969 Ford cars- Mustang, Galaxie, T-bird, etc., etc.
It is expensive because there are 5 volumes in the set. Up through 1968 there was only 1 volume for each specific car such as Mustang/Falcon. Beginning in 1969 all cars are combined in the set.

·
Registered
3,014 Posts
You'll find the brake light switch under the dash and wiring attached to the brake pedal. first check to see if the plug came off the switch or broke off. A switch is cheap, about $8 at O'Reileys or Advance Auto Parts.

You can test your existing switch without removing it if you has an ohm meter. Simply unplug the connector attach the leads from the meter, set the meter on ohms and press het brake pedal. If you see the needle move on the ohm meter chances are it's not the switch.

Attachments

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #8