Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have been having a problem with my shifting for a very long time. it will not go past about 4100 rpm's before it shifts into 2nd or 3rd, and this is with the gas pedal all the way down. its annoying because it doesn't even get into the power band. i have to manually shift it through the gears if i want to go to 5000 rpm's

i was just wondering what could cause this problem? how do i fix it?

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
4100? I am by no means a transmission expert, but I think you are asking a bit much from a stock C4. 5000 is pretty darn close to what a stock non-HiPo 289 can do before the valves start to float. They build racing C4's that will probably do what you want, but I don't think a stock one was designed for that kind of abuse. You could try adjusting the modulator inward and installing a longer pin, but I'm not real confident.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Even with a shift kit I have never had shift that late.
An adjustable modulator or longer rod will firm up and cause it to shift later but not very much.

·
(actually Slim Jr now)
24,597 Posts
Problem may be the vacuum modulator like Joe said. I wouldn't think 5000 rpm would be a problem. The A code peak HP is at 4800 rpm. K code peak is at 6000 if I'm not mistaken.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i am no transmission guy, i dont know what a longer rod refers to and where the vacum modulator is. how hard is it to replace or fix these things? how much $? and also if anyone new of a website that could help me, i would really appreciate it. my c4 has been rebuilt and a little more Heavy duty, it bothers me that i cant get it to stock rpm, let alone the few more rpms it could take now.

·
Registered
208 Posts
A bad modulator will cause late or no shift.
Adjusting the modulator will, no way, raise the shift point by even 1000 RPM. It was not meant to be a wide range adjustment.