Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I recently had to park the old girl due to the trans slipping like crazy. I have been looking into swapping over to a manual but have not decided yet. Has anyone else been in this position? If I send it in it will be close to 1k to have it rebuilt. If I did it myself time permitting it would be closer to $400. What would it cost to swap a 4 or 5 speed in? I plan on driving it on the weekends and occasionally to work. Right now its a 289 4v. I am a mechanic so I would be doing most if not all of the work myself. Any thoughts or opinions are appreciated.

·
Registered
19 Posts
That is an expensive swap. Bell housing, flywheel, pedals, possibly cross member as well as the gears in the rear end not to mention linkages, speedo cable amd gears(most manual speedo cables go into the passengers side instead of the drivers). I recently looked into it and decided for the money, I would get a well built automatic. According to the engine you have, a C-6 may be a good option. Mine is a 67 with a transplamted 351 Cleveland and a C-4.
Hello all, I recently had to park the old girl due to the trans slipping like crazy. I have been looking into swapping over to a manual but have not decided yet. Has anyone else been in this position? If I send it in it will be close to 1k to have it rebuilt. If I did it myself time permitting it would be closer to $400. What would it cost to swap a 4 or 5 speed in? I plan on driving it on the weekends and occasionally to work. Right now its a 289 4v. I am a mechanic so I would be doing most if not all of the work myself. Any thoughts or opinions are appreciated.

·
Registered
397 Posts