Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok VMF here we go again,

First of all thanks before hand . Ok here is the issue, I have a 67 coupe with a 68 302. I have a Edelbrock performer cam with 2800 stall torque converter, AFR 185 heads Holley car, air gap intake with headers. C4 transmission. Ok here is the problem
When I am driving the car will drive ok and then after a mile or so if I pull up to a stoplight or slow down the car will cut off. It will turn over if i start it back up but then it wont start.
I had to put the car in neutral and 2 foot it, put my left foot on the brake and right foot on the gas. Keep in mind I am not good at the mechanical side yet, I thought the car was flooding because if I let it sit for a minute or so it will start back up and drive.
My mechanic was in the car today when it happened and he doesnt know what the problem is. His words were it shuts off after it warms up. He thought it was the distributor, he thought it was the Holley carb but we ran out of time to figure it out. Keep in mind if I leave the car in park it will idle forever, the idle does surge a little bit meaning it will fluctuate between 900 rpm and then drop down to say 600 then go back to 900 and go back and forth. any thoughts.
In the morning when i start it up i have to gold the accelerator down for about 2 minutes until it gets up to operating temperature. If the Rpms drop below 500 it shuts off.
Hopefully its just a simple fix. In my limited knowledge Im thinking its the holley carb, I heard they are finicky. WHat I am stuck on is the fact that it shuts off when the car is warm thats weird to me

·
Registered
35,110 Posts
Before I'd go searching too far I'd verify whether it's a fuel issue or an ignition issue.