Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 69 Mustang with a 302 and 351 Cleveland heads. I have a Weiand high rise manifold with 2 Holley 660cfm carbs on it. The guy I bought it from did some bracket racing. We got the car running but it is running so rich that I start to choke after about 15 seconds. My question is: The guy I bought it from also gave me an adapter to put on the high rise manifold to go from 2 carbs to 1 carb. Can I put a Holley 750cfm double pumper on it ? I already looked into changing the manifold but that is tougher to find since it is modified and it has a different cam (size unknown). I think the 2 carbs was overkill. This is my first project car so any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,947 Posts
So basically what you have is a Boss 302..Yes you can certainly put a single carb on it or switch the intake completely to a boss or clevor intake..What do you plan on doing with the car?...Are you just going to street drive it or still race it?...What is the rest of the drivetrain(rear gears and trans type)?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am trying to detune it somewhat and make it streetable. Not a daily driver just something to play with on weekend. It had a spooled rear end and I changed that out to 3.0 gears with 28 spline axles. The tranny is an automatic with a 3500 stall that I plan open replacing with a stock or much lower stall.

·
Registered
3,823 Posts
Here's another option just to try for laughs (it might actually work)! Assuming a max rpm of 6000 and a hi volumetric efficiency of 90% (that's getting into race car level), the max cfm flow I calc is 471 cfm (for a 4V carb). Now you have to remember in racing, if anybody is running inthe mid-range of the rpm band they need AAA- because they are lost and need directions (grin)-