Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to all of this and need some guidance on identifying parts on my carburetor. I have a 1966 289 V8 2-barrel San Jose, CA version, which means is has the emission/thermactor system. I got a Weiand intake manifold and I want to upgrade the carburetor to a Holley 4-barrel 600 CFM, but I am lost on a few things:

A) Does my car use a manual choke or electric?
B) What are names and functions of the parts/hoses I labeled in the herein attached photos?
C) Is the carburetor I linked above compatible with my setup?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,995 Posts
#1 and #2 are your choke assembly. #1 is the heat tube from the exhaust that goes into the #2 choke housing and heats it up. As the engine warms up, the heat from the exhaust goes up the tube and into the choke which then opens up flap on the top of the carburetor to allow more air in.

·
Premium Member
6,049 Posts
And number 4 is the air horn feed that comes from a second tube inserted into the passenger side exhaust manifold.

AND it appears you have an original intact Thermactor system, so don't throw away any parts. Those are sought after by restorers and can command a high price.

Reactions: capemustang

·
Registered
10,058 Posts
I'd be tempted to run the Summit carb and not a Holley. Probably the smallest one...... unless you
were planning additional engine (and exhaust) upgrades.

Reactions: LSG and Huskinhano

·
Premium Member
6,049 Posts
Can't go wrong with an Autolite 4100 !

Reactions: rcodenewf

·
Premium Member
384 Posts
I agree. Research your CFM needs to match the carb to the engine.
You cannot simply bolt up any size carb and get good performance.

·
Premium Member
13,155 Posts
3 is a cold/high idle dashpot