Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are classic mustangs ( years 65-68 ) good daily drivers? Im a highschool student and i was wodering if they are good cars for normal driving. Ive heard stories about how they constantly break down but mainly from people who despise ford. I figured id ask the people who know more about them.

·
Registered
6,911 Posts
I drive my 70 every day....

the only downtime I didnt cause was an ignition pickup for the duraspark conversion I put in....

I've had lots of daily drivers that were almost my age; I know quite a bit about cars, and am armed to handle most hiccups

·
6,855 Posts
No. They wouldn't make a good daily driver for a high school student.

OK...that's going to get me flamed so maybe I'd better qualify that statement. If you're God's gift to 16 year old mechanics or your Dad/Brother/Mom/Sister is a mechanic and into mustangs and they want to work with you to get a mustang and get it going, then it might be a good car.

But let's be realistic. A 1965 Mustang is 37 going on 38 years old. That's a lot of years, and for most of them a lot of miles. They can be built to be pretty reliable...but when things go wrong you can't just run down to Autozone and buy every single part you need. Most parts are available, but you may have to order them. For instance, I lost a power steering hose a couple of weeks ago on a Friday, and it was Wednesday before UPS brought the new hose. If my '65 was my only car I'd have been sitting.

Then there's the rust issue. Most '65's I see sitting beside the road for sale have quite a lot of it. Some of it is structural. That means the car isn't as safe as it was when new...and let's face it even when new they weren't all that safe. Many were built without seatbelts (at least in back). A lot have 4 wheel drum brakes. None have ABS. None have air bags. All have "spear-o-matic" steering columns and drop in gas tanks.