Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a new law in Florida that you can be stopped by a cop if they notice that you are not wearing a seat belt. I believe that it use to be that they had to stop you on some other infraction before the seat belt violation. I've been wearing seat belts since 1963. Have any of you with the seat belt minus the shoulder belt been stopped? It's not visible from the road that you have the seat belt on in older Mustangs. I suspect that younger cops might not understand that shoulder belts were not standard in the "old days". :shrug:

·
VMF Full-Timer
3,823 Posts
Not yet, but I'm sure the day is coming. I only hope it's not the Highway Patrol,some can be real Di*ks at times.Especially after they stop you thinking they got you dead to rights only to find out that you are wearing a lap belt.I got a feeling that will realy piss'em off and they will probably write you a ticket anyway and say "tell it to the judge boy" :shrug:

·
Registered
99 Posts
I personally don't think the Govt has the right to tell anyone over 18 to wear a seat belt or helmet, but I always use both. In Denver it's a secondary offense. Meaning they can't pull you over for just your seat belt but they can ticket you for it if you're pulled over for something else.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
I am just waiting for the stop....I plan to keep my hands visible so I cannot be accused of putting it on as he approaches. That is if my pipes don't get me stopped first.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts