Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this forum, and based in the UK, where Mustang parts and advice aren't so easy to find. I've searched for a thread about this, but although there are some on disc conversions, I can't find one about this.

I have a 65 6 cylinder auto coupe with drum brakes, and I'm converting it to V8 manual, with disc brakes. I've acquired some front hub assemblies off a 67 V8 Fastback. I'm an engineer, and making adapters to fit a nice set of Brembo calipers to the V8 spindles. My question is this, do I bolt them to the 6 cylinder radius arms, or fit the V8 Arms? I can't mock them up to work it out for myself at the moment, as the body is away being painted. However, I popped to the painter's the other day and put a tape measure across the lower radius arm, and its roughly 1 1/2" shorter than the V8 arm.

Are the bodies the same on all 65-67's, where the arms bolt on, or are the 6's different to the V8's?

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to hearing your advice.

·
Premium Member
9,522 Posts
'65 and '67 use different front suspension. The '65 uses shims between the Upper Control Arm and the shock tower to adjust caster and camber. The '67 uses an adjustable Lower Control Arm to adjust camber and an adjustable Strut Rod to adjust Caster.
What are you calling a radius arm? The strut rod that attaches to the outboard end of the LCA and angles inward towards the front of the car?
The '65 spindles and '67 spindles have different geometry built into them, particularly the steering arm that the outer tie rod attaches to.

There are many differences between a 6 cylinder car and a V8 car. The front spindles are smaller/weaker and the rear end is smaller/weaker. Converting to a V8 requires a lot of parts replacement.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3